Direct Line to God

One of the attractions of Islam is the direct nature of a Muslim’s relationship with God. Everyone has a direct line  – you don’t need to dial via a priest or saint. This little girl on Sunnipath takes that idea to the next level.  🙂

“SunniPath is the vanguard of combining religion and technology. A funny thing happened a few days ago. I was reading a dua at a remote mosque. I didn’t have it memorized so I was reading along with a recording on my iphone. A five to six year old Palestinian girl came up to me and pointed at the iphone and said, “Aysh hadha (what’s that)?” I responded, a telephone. Thinking I was reading Quran, she continued her inquiry, “You’re reading Quran on a telephone?” Laughingly, I tried my best to explain, “No, no. It’s also an electronic device as well that can play Quran and I read along.” With a look of amazement on her face she blurted, “Are you talking to Allah on a telephone?” I thought about it and I guess I was since I was making dua and using an iphone. It was a bit of a reach but I didn’t want to disappoint her. “Yup.” Her eyes got bigger. “Can I try?” I shrugged my shoulders and put the headphones on her. “Ya Allah, bidee diraja (O Allah, I want a bicycle).”

Source: Zaheer Razack at Sunnipath

2 thoughts on “Direct Line to God

  1. BismillahirRahmanirRahim
    Assalamu Aleykum,

    If you had a direct line to Allah (JJ) your duas would have been accepted. Tell me, when was the last time your dua was accepted?

    Mine are not accepted. But my Sheykh’s duas, whom I believe is a saint does come true.

    Ignorance and fitna have even reached to this website.

    Fi Amanillah.

  2. minaretmuse

    Wa Aleikum asalaam wa rahmatullah.
    Thank you for your comment.
    Just to clarify, I wrote “Everyone has a direct line” to God, and didn’t claim that I was in sole possession of one. I’m really not that special.
    As for the last time my dua was accepted – well let me think, that’ll be last month. Alhamdulillah 🙂
    I’m at a loss to understand what “ignorance and fitna” you’ve discovered on this site? Do feel free to point it out.

    The mainstream Sunni Muslim understanding of supplication is that no-one is obliged to pray to God via a Shaykh in order to have their prayers answered. Perhaps your confusion arises because you follow a different path?
    I’m really very sorry to hear that you feel your prayers go unanswered. In the Qur’an Allah says:
    “”And your Lord says: “Call on Me; I will answer your (Prayer)” Surah 40 verse 60.
    In Hadith the Prophet (peace be upon him) tells us: “”The supplication of every one of you will be granted if he does not get impatient and say (for example): `I supplicated my Lord but my prayer has not been granted’.”(Hadith Bukhari and Muslim)

    There are ways of optimising your duas by following the recommended etiquettes of dua, and choosing special times to make them eg. while in prostration during salah. Wikipedia has some basics here:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dua#cite_note-reference_1-0

    And I’ll finish with another dua – for you. May Allah bless you with guidance and the tawfeeq to always call upon Him with hope and trust. Ameen!

Leave a Reply

